index heading

Munich, Germany

Munich is a German city located on the River Isar and is the capital city of Bavaria. It's the third largest German city behind Berlin and Hamburg. Munich was founded in 1158 by Henry the Lion, duke of Saxony and of Bavaria and became the capital of the dukedom in 1506. The city was occupied in 1632 by Gustavus II of Sweden during the Thirty Years War. In 1806 the city was made capital of the Kingdom of Bavaria. Munich was to become an artistic and cultural center and it played a leading role in the development of 19th and 20th century art. In 1923, Adolf Hitler failed in his attempted coup aimed at the Bavarian government and landed in prison. Later, when Hitler took control of the national government in 1933 he made Munich his headquarters. In 1938, the Munich Agreement was signed in the city by representatives of Germany, Italy, France and Britain, ceding the Sudetenland region of Czechoslovakia to Germany. During the war Munich had been the target of 71 Allied bombing raids. On April 30, 1945 Munich was captured by American forces. The infamous Dachau concentration camp was 10 miles northwest of Munich.

The Siegestor in Munich is a triumphal arch commissioned by King Ludwig I of Bavaria and designed by Friedrich von Gärtner and completed by Eduard Mezger in 1852. On top of the gate is a statue of Bavaria with a lion-quadriga that was created by Martin von Wagner. Originally the gate was dedicated to the glory of the Bavarian army. The monument was heavily damaged by bombing raids during World War II and was only partially restored afterwards. The inscription on the back side reads "Dedicated to victory, destroyed by war, reminding of peace."